MENU

Quarter 2

Week 9 (January 16-19)

Tuesday, January 16
Read Scope Magazine article: "Can the Desert Tortoise be Saved?"
Answer multiple choice and short answer questions (worksheet)

Wednesday, January 17
Finish answering multiple choice and short answer questions
Discuss answers as a class

Thursday, January 18
Read Scope Magazine article: "Black Sunday"
Answer short answer questions (worksheet)

Friday, January 19
Finish answering short answer questions
Discuss answers as a class


Week 8 (January 8-12)

Monday, January 8
Rubric for informative essay/8-sentence paragraph
Finish graphic organizer from Friday
Organize your 8-sentence paragraph or essay (use boxes or an outline)

Tuesday, January 9
Choose your evidence and how you are going to cite it
Start writing your commentary

Wednesday, January 10
Begin typing your paragraph or essay (use the same Google Doc as all other Writing assignments)

Thursday, January 11
Type your paragraph or essay (use the same Google Doc as all other Writing assignments)

Friday, January 12
Type your paragraph or essay (use the same Google Doc as all other Writing assignments)  ... DUE TODAY ...

Highlight:

  • Answer completely using key words (topic sentence or thesis statement)– highlight yellow
  • Cite textual evidence-citations only, please – highlight light green
  • Explain/expand your answer – highlight light blue
  • Closing/wrap up-highlight red
  • Transitions-you choose the color

Week 7 (January 3-5)


Wednesday, January 3
Prompt: Write an informative essay comparing and contrasting rogue waves and tsunamis.  Cite text evidence.  You may write an 8-sentence paragraph or a full essay of 4 paragraphs.
Copy prompt in notebook
Read, highlight, and annotate Source 1
Page 1
Page 2
Page 3

Thursday, January 4
Read, highlight, and annotate Source 2
Page 1
Page 2
Answer the questions about tsunamis and rogue waves
Questions Page 1
Questions Page 2

Friday, January 5
Write a topic sentence which answers the prompt completely
Complete graphic organizer

Week 6 (December 11-15)

Monday, December 11
"Adding Transitions to a Paragraph" activity in dry erase pouches

Tuesday, December 12
Look at example paragraph and identify different types of citations
Citation practice with article: Benefits of Boogers
Further practice: (Cite this both ways as a direct quote)
Adee Braun wrote an article about circus elephants.  "Once the 13 Asian elephants currently performing with Ringling Bros. retire, they will go to an elephant conservation center in Florida."

​Wednesday, December 13
​Topic sentence practice - write a topic sentence for each prompt (in your notebook)
​How does music play a role in American culture?
How has the invention of technology changed life in America?
What skills are needed to get a good job?
What are the most important effects automobiles have had on society?
Explain how social media has affected children and teens.

Thursday, December 14
Formal and informal language - stations

Friday, December 15
Journal writing on chrome books (in Google docs)


Week 5 (December 4-8)

Monday, December 4
Highlight and annotate the article - "Seed Vault"
Begin working on sentence strips

Tuesday, December 5
Prompt: Using the article by Damian Carrington on the seed vault, write an 8-sentence paragraph, using the ACE method, to answer these questions: What is the Global Seed Vault, and what is its purpose?  Explain how the weather has affected it.

Write your topic sentence, evidence, and commentary on sentence strips.

Wednesday, December 6
Type your 8-sentence paragraph

Thursday, December 7

Type your 8-sentence paragraph

Friday, December 8
Finish your 8-sentence paragraph - DUE at the end of class today
Answer completely using key words – yellow
Cite textual evidence – green
Explain/expand your answer – light blue



Week 4 (November 27-December 1)

Monday, November 27
Highlight and annotate the article - Why did Veterans Day Start?


Tuesday, November 28

Prompt: Using the article from the Department of Veterans Affairs, explain why Americans celebrate Veterans Day and how it originated. Write an 8-sentence paragraph, using the ACE Method.
Write a topic sentence which uses key words from the prompt.

Wednesday, November 30

 Citation Stations - Practice citing evidence four different ways

Thursday, November 31
Begin writing 8-sentence paragraph

Friday, December 1
Finish writing 8-sentence paragraph
Answer completely using key words – yellow
Cite textual evidence – green
Explain/expand your answer – light blue


Week 3 (November 13-17)

 


Monday, November 13
Pronoun Test
ACE song

Tuesday, November 14
ACE method notes

Wednesday, November 15
Topic sentence practice

Thursday, November 16
ACE method examples

Friday, November 17

Grammar games on chrome books (see Resources - Grammar Games)

Week 2 (November 6-10)


(See Resources - Pronoun Help for links)
Monday, November 6

Formal vs Informal Powerpoint
Pronoun pretest

Tuesday, November 7
Correct informal sentences
Make pronoun chart in notebook

Wednesday, November 8
Warm-up: Correct the pronouns in the sentences
School House Rock Pronoun song video
Shmoop Pronoun video

Thursday, November 9
Warm-up: Clear pronoun antecedent
Shmoop Subject vs Object Pronoun video
Shmoop I vs Me video
Shmoop She vs Her video

Friday, November 10
Pronoun assignment
ACE song
Practice writing topic sentences

Week 1 (October 30 - November 1)

Monday, October 30
Portfolio Day - complete reflection paper

Tuesday, October 31
Grammar Games on chrome books - Games are located in the Resources section of the website

Wednesday, November 1
Talk a Mile a Minute