MENU

Quarter 3

Week 9 - March 19-22

Monday, March 19
Grammar review
Intro to Misplaced Modifiers

Tuesday, March 20
Misplaced Modifiers 

Wednesday, March 21
QUIZ - Irregular verbs
Begin Misplaced Modifiers Poster

Thursday, March 22
Finish Misplaced Modifiers Poster

Friday, March 23
No school for students - Happy Spring Break!


Week 8 - March 12-16

Monday, March 12
ISAT review and posters

Tuesday, March 13

ISAT review and posters

Wednesday, March 14

Verb tense notes

Thursday, March 15
Verb tense chart

Friday, March 16

In your notebook, write a past tense narrative about a time when you were embarrassed.  


Week 7 - March 5-9

Monday, March 5
"English is Hard" posters

Tuesday, March 6

Writing prompt (respond in your notebook):
How does failure or setbacks make people stronger? Give one example of someone you have heard about (other than Shaun White). This may be a famous person or a friend. Give another example from your own life of how you failed at something or experienced a difficult circumstance in your life.

Wednesday, March 7
Narrative intros

Thursday, March 8
Eureka article 

Friday, March 9
Eureka questions

Week 6 - February 26-March 2

Monday, February 26
Cliff Swallows ISAT short answer practice

Tuesday, February 27

ISAT 

Wednesday, February 28
ISAT

Thursday, March 1

ISAT

Friday, March 2

"English is Hard" in-class activity


Week 5 - February 19-23

Monday, February 19
No school

Tuesday, February 20
Apostrophe practice
Apostrophe chart (copy in your notebook) - example notebooks available

Wednesday, February 21
Finish apostrophe chart - example notebooks available

Thursday, February 22
Preposition review
Claim practice

Friday, February 23

Cliff Swallows ISAT practice - stations


Week 4 - February 12-16


Prompt: Should people be allowed to keep pit bulls as pets?  Write a four paragraph argumentative essay, and cite text evidence.

Monday, February 12

Plan your essay - cite three pieces of evidence in three different ways

Tuesday, February 13
Plan your essay - write an outline or flow chart and write your counterclaim

Wednesday, February 14
Type on chrome books

Thursday, February 15
Type on chrome books

Friday, February 16
Type on chrome books
ESSAY DUE

Week 3 - February 5-9


Monday, February 5
Open note quiz on argumentative writing
Claim practice
It's vs Its worksheet (complete in notebook)

Tuesday, February 6
Thesis/claim notes and practice

Wednesday, February 7
Reliable sources notes

Thursday, February 8
Read, highlight, annotate Performance Assessment Workbook pages 10-13

Friday, February 9
Continue working through page 16

Week 2 - January 29 - February 2


Monday, January 29
Argumentative writing notes (copy in your notebook)

Tuesday, January 30
Look at example argumentative essay
Begin writing your own argumentative essay
Prompt: Should cell phones be allowed in the classroom?

Wednesday, January 31
Continue writing essay

Thursday, February 1

Continue writing essay

Friday, February 2
Continue writing essay
Highlight your claim (in the first paragraph and the last paragraph)
*DUE TODAY*

Week 1 - January 22-26

Tuesday, January 23
Test-taking strategies
Evaluate student writing samples

Wednesday, January 24
ISAT assessment

Thursday, January 25
Scope Grammar practice
Shmoop video - Then vs Than

Friday, January 26
"Talk a Mile a Minute" vocabulary game